Home

image

Sunday’s have been the day I go visit my dad and watch some of our favorite shows and movies together. We love watching The Walking Dead, Game of Thrones, and maybe a little Dexter among other things.

Though I wasn’t able to visit my father yesterday due to it being Mother’s Day, I still caught up on some shows and I’ll give my thoughts on them.

Since I’m posting this Monday I’ll include SPOILERS.

Game of Thrones

It would be tough for any show to keep the momentum that GoT built with the first two episodes of the season. I expected a slower episode like “Oathbreaker” eventually but it was still really enjoyable.

Slow or not, with that big ressurection at the end of last weeks episode you could just have Jon Snow sit and talk for five minutes about what it was like to die, which is exactly what happened, and it was awesome. The episode was bookmarked by Jon Snow and it was very satisfying to watch. Even had a little R+L=J with the Bran flashback, or so it seems. Kind of seems like they’re slapping us in the face with it now.

The other pieces of the show moved along as expected. Nothing really mind blowing beside the forgotten Stark in the worst position possible. Daenerys stuff was a little weird, and I have mixed feeling on Arya’s whole deal. It’s nice to see her character grow but it’s progressively getting less interesting with every episode.

Not as good as the previous episodes but still some great stuff.

Fear the Walking Dead

I’ve been overly critical of The Walking Dead spin-off mostly for its slow pacing and leaps in logic but “Captive” was pretty ok.

First the bad, Alicia is officially my most unlikable character in a show filled with unlikable characters. Chris gives her a run for her money but the writers really make Alicia painfully oblivious. Of course you weren’t going to be able to finish your steak, of course they didn’t plan on dropping off your family safe and sound before returning with the boat, were you seriously considering staying? Why was she so surprised the bad guys were bad after all they’ve done?

I enjoyed the tension between Chris and Reed, though it had a cringeworthy conclusion. I could do without Chris and Alicia becoming young Carl 2.0 though.

I liked everything else in the episode. Im not cheering for a particular character like I cheered for Rick in season 1 of The Walking Dead. Nick and Travis are getting there since both are flawed but have the biggest hearts.

This show needs to pick up the pace now. I’m probably going to watch this show anyway because there’s nothing else on and the main show has my brain ready for Zombies at that day and time but there’s potential to improve for sure and they just need to reach out a grab it, like Reed when he reached out to grab his brother.

Leave a comment